24/09/2019 - 28/09/2019

@wbsc   #Softball #RoadtoTokyo  

Hosted by:   CHN

Softball Asia Oceania Qualifier 2019 - Official Payoff

GameTime Classics Episode 20: Australia v China playoff for Tokyo 2020 ticket at WBSC Asia/Oceania Olympic Qualifier

GameTime Classics Episode 20: Australia v China playoff for Tokyo 2020 ticket at WBSC Asia/Oceania Olympic Qualifier
13/04/2020
Australia and China are two superpowers of women's softball with the former having won a medal in all four previous editions of Olympic softball (a silver and three bronze medals), while the latter earned a silver medal at Atlanta 1996.

The latest edition of GameTime Classics features another memorable game between two giants of women's softball. Australia and China faced off on 28 September 2019, on the last day of the WBSC Asia/Oceania Qualifier in Shanghai, China, with the final spot in the women's softball competition at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games on the line.

Both teams have participated in all four previous editions of the Olympic Games. But with only one spot available in the WBSC Asia/Oceania Qualifier, the streak would be over for one of them. Australia has won a medal in all four Olympic softball events (a silver and three bronze medals), while China earned a silver medal at Atlanta 1996.

Australia needed a win to clinch their ticket to Tokyo while China’s only chance was a victory to force a triple tie at the top of the standings.

Lefty Kaia Parnaby started the game for Australia and Lan Wang went into the circle for the hosts China.

This game will be streamed for free at www.youtube.com/wbsc at 9 pm Eastern US Standard Time* on Monday, 13 April (3 am Central European Time*, 11 am Sydney Time) and Sunday at 9 am Eastern Standard Time* (3:00 pm Central European Time*, 11 pm Australia Time) at www.facebook.com/wbsc. *Observing daylight saving time.

The next episode of the GameTime Classics series will be the WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup 2019 final between Chinese Taipei and USA.


Watch more GameTime Classics:

Episode19: Korea, Cuba battle in early stages of Women's Baseball World Cup 2016
Episode 18: New Zealand, Australia thriller open Men's Softball World Cup 2013 playoffs
Episode 17: Japan, Panama fight hard in WBSC U-15 Baseball World Cup super round
Episode 16: Great Britain vs Italy for an Olympic softball berth
Episode 15: Watch Australia vs USA in 2019 Premier12 thriller
Episode 14: Re-live the 2018 Junior Men’s Softball World Cup Final between Australia and Japan
Episode 13: Watch Korea vs Panama in 2016 U-23 Baseball World Cup
Episode 12: Mexico, Canada battle to qualify for the Tokyo Olympic softball competition
Episode 11: Watch a semifinal thriller - Canada-Chinese Taipei at the Women's Baseball World Cup 2016
Episode 10: Historic first-ever WBSC U-12 Mixed Softball final between Chinese Taipei and Peru
Episode 9: Watch Korea vs Japan in 2015 Premier12 Semi-Final
Episode 8: Singapore, Argentina open 2020 U-18 Men’s Softball World Cup with a bang
Episode 7: Watch Chinese Taipei and Japan battle in the 2018 Women's Baseball World Cup
Episode 6: JPN vs USA dramatic 2019 U-19 Women’s Softball World Cup final
Episode 5: Re-live Mexico v USA 2019 U-12 Baseball World Cup elimination game
Episode 4: Mexico-New Zealand epic battle at WBSC Men’s Softball World Championship 2019
Episode 2: Re-live the Japan-USA Final of the 2018 WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship
Watch for free: WBSC Baseball, Softball World Cup blockbuster